Maryland Driving Suspended License Penalties Change
Beginning October 1, 2017, certain penalties have changed for driving with a suspended license in Maryland. Pursuant to the Justice Reinvestment Act certain provisions of the Transportation Article 16-303 have changed.
If you have been charged with driving while suspended, then you should consult with an attorney to discuss the possible defenses and outcomes of your case. Our office has experience defending and mitigating these type of cases in Maryland.
Driving while license suspended laws have changed
Prior to October 1, 2017, driving with a suspended license under 16-303(h) or 16-303(i) carried possible jail time. However, under the new law, these offenses carry a fine only.
Under 16-303(h) a person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended.
Under 16-303(i) applies only to a person whose license or privilege to drive is suspended under the traffic laws or regulations of another state.
A person convicted of a violation of the Transportation Article under subsection (h) or (i) is subject to:
- A fine not exceeding $ 500;
- Must appear in court; and
- May not prepay the fine.
This is a significant change from the previous maximum penalty which was 60 days in jail and/or a $500 fine. However, these offenses still carry three points if convicted. If you get three points on your license, then the MVA will send you a warning letter.
Driving while license suspended? Call our office for free consultation.
If you’ve been charged with driving while suspended it is essential for you to speak with an attorney who is experienced in this area of law. We are an experienced Maryland driving while suspended law firm and can help you navigate the aftermath of being arrested. The sooner we begin working on your case, the sooner you can get on with your life—so give us a call at 443/457-3890.The post Maryland Driving Suspended License Penalties Change appeared first on Albers and Associates.