1st DUI? Know Your Rights.
Anytime you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol, or another mind-altering substance, you will face serious criminal charges and consequences. Without the aid of an experienced Maryland DUI attorney, even your 1st DUI offense can prove disastrous for your quality of life.
If you were recently arrested for your first DUI in Maryland, you may have many questions about what may happen next and what you should do to prepare for it.
The Penalties for Your First DUI in Maryland
If you are convicted of a DUI in Maryland for the first time, you may face the following DUI penalties:
- Fines up to $1,000
- Up to 1 year in jail.
- Minimum license suspension of 6 months.
- The use of an Ignition Interlock device for 6 months.
In the event you refuse to take a chemical test at the time of your arrest, you will face additional penalties due to the implied consent laws in Maryland.
For your first DUI offense, refusal to take a breathalyzer test will result in a 270 day license suspension. If, after refusing the test, you are then convicted of a DWI or a DUI, you will be required to enroll in the ignition interlock program for a minimum of 1 year.
Noah’s Law and It’s Effects on DUI Convictions in Maryland
The Drunk Driving Reduction Act of 2016, also known as Noah’s Law, was put into effect on October 1st of 2016. This law dictates longer license suspensions as well as mandatory participation in the ignition interlock device program upon conviction.
The state of Maryland has been punishing DUI offenses harsher than ever before. This effort helps to keep the roads safer, but may prove problematic for you, even if you’re a 1st time DUI offender.
Seek the Help of a Maryland DUI Attorney
Albers & Associates can help defend your future from disaster. Even if this is only your first time being charged, the reality of DUI convictions are very serious. So, contact us today to learn more
Will I Lose My License?
You might. Depending on the type of license you have and whether or not you are convicted, your license may be suspended or even revoked depending on the circumstances of your charges. However, even being charged with a DUI can result in the suspension of your license, which can affect your life substantially.
Will I Lose My Job?
It depends on your job. At the time of your arrest, the police officer will confiscate your license and provide you with a paper license that you can use until your MVA Hearing. However, for people who hold commercial driver’s licenses, also known as CDLs, this will not replace the license you need to do your job. So, until the charges are cleared, you will not be able to work. Getting on the phone with a lawyer as soon as humanly possible is essential for your continued employment.
Am I Going to Jail?
You might. If you are found guilty of a DUI, particularly if this is your second or third offense, you may face jail time. One possible outcome of DUI court proceedings, a Probation Before Judgment, can be sought. If you are able to secure a PBJ, you will be able to avoid going to jail.