Essex DUI Lawyer
If you were arrested for drinking and driving in Essex, Maryland, then contact Albers & Associates to schedule a free consultation.
Essex DUI Arrest
You were likely pulled over for speeding, illegal lane change or failure to maintain a single lane. After being pulled the over, the officer asked whether or not you had been drinking. Most people admit to drinking two beers.
After admitting to drinking, the officer asked you to step out of your car to perform standard field sobriety tests.
Essex Standard Field Sobriety Tests
The standard field sobriety tests are three tests that help the police officer determine if you are under the influence or not. The first test is the horizontal gaze nystagmus (HGN). There are six clues. The second test is the walk and turn test (W&T). There are eight clues. The final test is the one leg stand test (OLS). There are four clues.
After taking the tests, the officer might as you to perform a preliminary breath test (PBT).
Finally, the officer will place you under arrest.
Essex Breathalyzer Test
You will be taken to the police station in Essex and asked to perform the breathalyzer test.
The legal limit in Essex, Maryland is 0.08 BAC. However, if you blow under the legal limit you can still be charged and found guilty of a DUI or DWI.
Essex DUI Charges
You will likely be charged with DUI, DWI, and DUI per se.
DUI carries a maximum penalty of one year in jail and/or a $1,000.00 fine. It also carries 12 points with the MVA.
DUI per se carries a maximum penalty of one year in jail and/or a $1,000.00 fine. It also carries 12 points with the MVA. Per se means you blew over the legal limit of 0.08.
DWI carries a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail and/or a $500.00 fine. It also carries 8 points with the MVA.
You will also be charged with any moving violations that occurred prior to you being pulled over like speeding, negligent driving, and reckless driving.
Essex DUI Court
If charged with DUI in Essex Maryland, then your case will be prosecuted in the Essex District Court on Kelso Drive in Baltimore County, Maryland. The trial date will occur between 45 to 90 days after your arrest.
Schedule a free Essex DUI Lawyer consultation
If you’re facing a DUI or DWI in Essex Maryland, then contact Albers & Associates to schedule a free consultation. Our DUI attorneys include a former Baltimore City prosecutor and former Maryland State Trooper.The post Essex DUI Lawyer appeared first on Albers and Associates.