Rated on Google

DUI/DWI MVA Penalties

Charged with a DUI? Know Your Rights.

If you refuse to take or fail the test to determine your blood alcohol content, then your driver’s license will be confiscated and you will be issued a temporary license for 45 days. If you request an MVA hearing, then your Maryland driver’s license may be eligible for a modified suspension, such as a health, school and work restriction, or installation of the interlock in your vehicle for up to one year.

Maryland DUI MVA Penalties

If you do not request a MVA hearing within 10 days, then your Maryland driving privileges will be suspended as follows:

Blood Alcohol Content: 0.08 – 0.14
1st DUI – 45-day suspension
2nd DUI or more – 90-day suspension

Blood Alcohol Content: 0.15 or more
1st DUI – 90-day suspension
2nd DUI or more – 180-day suspension

Blood Alcohol Content: Refused test
1st DUI – 120-day suspension
2nd DUI or more: 1-year suspension

What Will Happen at My Maryland MVA Hearing?

To determine whether or not your licence will be suspended following your DUI/DWI, you will need to request a hearing to plead your case. Whether you were pulled over in Columbia, Westminster, Towson, or anywhere else in Maryland, you’re going to need a dependable lawyer to get you through this.

In addition to penalties placed by the MVA, you may also face jail time and other serious consequences if you are convicted of a DUI. If your DUI arrest was the result of an accident, there may be even more complex and separate cases and trials.


Will I Lose My License?

You might. Depending on the type of license you have and whether or not you are convicted, your license may be suspended or even revoked depending on the circumstances of your charges. However, even being charged with a DUI can result in the suspension of your license, which can affect your life substantially.

Will I Lose My Job?

It depends on your job. At the time of your arrest, the police officer will confiscate your license and provide you with a paper license that you can use until your MVA Hearing. However, for people who hold commercial driver’s licenses, also known as CDLs, this will not replace the license you need to do your job. So, until the charges are cleared, you will not be able to work. Getting on the phone with a lawyer as soon as humanly possible is essential for your continued employment.

Am I Going to Jail?

You might. If you are found guilty of a DUI, particularly if this is your second or third offense, you may face jail time. One possible outcome of DUI court proceedings, a Probation Before Judgment, can be sought. If you are able to secure a PBJ, you will be able to avoid going to jail.