Maryland DUI Laws
2018 MARYLAND DUI LAWS
Driving while under the influence is a serious offense and will be treated as such by the Maryland legal system. To ensure that you are acting in compliance with the law, we’ve compiled the laws that you should be aware of in regards to driving under the influence in Maryland. If you’re facing DUI Charges in Maryland, then make the call now. Let’s take a look.
Know the Legal Limit
The “legal limit” is the amount of alcohol allowed to be in your system while you drive. However, it should be noted that if you are involved in an accident with any amount of alcohol in your system, then your BAC may be called into account even if it’s lower than the legal limit.
In the state of Maryland, the legal limit for drivers of age is 0.08% for a DUI and between 0.08% and 0.04 for a DWI. For commercial drivers, the limit is 0.04%. For drivers under 21, the legal limit is 0.02%.
Understanding Noah’s Law
In 2016, a new law was passed after a police officer named Noah Leotta was hit by a drunk driver in the line of duty. In a concerted effort to reduce the number of drunk drivers on the road, the Drunk Driving Reduction Act of 2016 was passed. This law expands the Ignition Interlock Program to include anyone who is convicted of a DUI in Maryland, anyone convicted of a DWI while driving with a minor under the age of 16, and anyone who has caused a death or life-threatening injury while driving under the influence.
For the first incident, a convicted person will have to participate in the program for 6 months. For a second offense, the participation time doubles to 1 year. After that, convicted persons must participate for 3 years.
Along with the expansion of the Ignition Interlock Program, Noah’s Law has also lengthened the number of days that your license will be suspended based on your BAC. In the event that you refuse to take a breathalyzer test when you are pulled over, then your license could be suspended for 270 days for a first offense as opposed to the previous 120 days.
Penalties for Driving Under the Influence are Serious
For first time offenders, the penalties for driving under the influence are pretty intense. You could face fines up to $1,000, and up to a year in jail. Not to mention the fact that you will also be given 12 points on your license and a possible revocation for 6 months. That’s only for first-time DUI offenders. Subsequent offenses carry even higher penalties and are more likely to stick the more that you have. This is why it’s vital to have a good lawyer on your side if you are facing DUI or DWI charges in Maryland.
Albers & Associates Can Help
If you’re concerned about DUI/DWI charges in Maryland, then contact Attorney Albers to handle your case. He is one of the leading lawyers in this field and he can tackle your case with expertise. Contact us today for more information and to set up a free consultation.