Skip to Content Top
PROFESSIONAL. RESPONSIVE. RESULTS. What Happens if I get a DWI in Maryland? maryland's top legal team

What Happens if I get a DWI in Maryland?

Though everybody knows they shouldn’t get behind the wheel of a car after having a drink, for various reasons, the truth is, people still do it. Though this is a big mistake, our firm believes that it does not make you a bad person–that is why we are dedicated to helping those charged with DWI and DUI charges fight for their rights. If you are facing a DUI charge, you must continue reading and reach out to our experienced Maryland criminal defense attorneys to learn more about the consequences you may face, and how we can help you beat them. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding the legal process going forward:

What does the phrase DWI mean in Maryland?

Two primary charges are dealing with driving while under the influence. The first charge is called a DWI, or Driving While Impaired by Alcohol. If you were arrested with a blood alcohol content between 0.07 and 0.08 percent, you will generally face a DWI charge. The consequences of a DWI charge in the state of Maryland are as follows:

  • A $500 fine
  • 2 months in jail
  • 8 points on your driver’s license
  • A potential six-month driver’s license suspension

Those charged with a second DWI in Maryland will most likely face the following penalties:

  • A $500 fine
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • 8 points on your driver’s license
  • A potential 1-year license suspension

What is the difference between a DUI and a DWI in Maryland?

The main difference between a DUI and a DWI is that individuals receive DUIs if they are found with a BAC of .08% or higher. If you are charged with a DUI in Maryland, you face the following consequences:

  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Up to 1 year of jail time
  • Up to 12 points on your driver’s license
  • Up to a 6-month license revocation

That being said, if you have already been charged with a DUI, and you are now facing your second DUI charge in Maryland, you can expect even harsher consequences upon conviction. They are as follows:

  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • Up to 2 years in jail
  • A potential 1-year license revocation
  • Up to 12 points on your driver’s license

Contact our experienced Maryland firm

If you have been injured in an accident and wish to speak with an attorney about your best course of action, contact the Albers & Associates today.

Albers & Associates is comprised of experienced personal injury, criminal defense, and family law attorneys. Our firm is proud to serve clients in Baltimore, Maryland. If you require strong legal representation that will fight to protect your future, contact the attorneys at Albers & Associates to schedule a consultation.


Contact Albers & Associates Today!

We’re Ready to Help

A member of our team will be in touch shortly to confirm your contact details or address questions you may have.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.