Rated on Google

Maryland Tax Lien Timeline

What is the Maryland tax lien timeline?

Interested in purchasing a tax lien, you need to understand the tax lien process.  Our office has experience handling Maryland tax liens.

The tax lien process in Maryland

  • April 1
  • June 4
  • July 1
    • Tax certificates received from the tax office.
  • September 5
    • Title work ordered for each property.
    • First round of notices mailed by tax certificate holder.
      • Notices must be sent via certified mail to all interested parties (owners, lenders, etc.).
  • September 29
    • Second round of notices mailed by tax certificate holder.
      • Notices must be sent via certified mail to all interested parties (owners, lenders, etc.).
  • November 5
    • Complaint eligible for filing.
      • The complaint may be filed 60 days after the mailing of the first notice, or 30 days after the mailing of the second notice, whichever date is later.
  • January 20
    • Complaint filed to seek foreclose the right of redemption in and to the property that is the subject of the tax certificate.
    • In addition to the Complaint, the tax certificate holder drafts and files a proposed Order of Publication (to be published in the Daily Record) and proposed Notice to Interested Parties (to be posted on the subject property by a private process server).
  • February 1
    • Court sends a signed copy of the Order of Publication, a signed Notice to Interested Parties and a summons for each defendant.
  • June 1
    • Once all defendants have been served, the Order of Publication has been published, the property has been posted, and all notices have been sent, the certificate holder files its Motion for Judgment and Affidavit of Compliance.
      • This motion simply affirms that all statutory requirements have been met and requests that the Court issue a judgment foreclosing the right of redemption and awarding the title to the certificate holder.
  • July 1
    • Court issues judgment foreclosing the right of redemption and awarding the title to the property to the certificate holder.
    • A copy of the judgment, along with a proposed deed, is submitted to the tax office for their review and execution.
  • August 1
    • Tax office notifies you that the deed is ready for pickup.
    • The deed is picked up and recorded in the land records.
    • If the property is not vacant, a writ of possession may be filed and the previous owner (or tenant) may be evicted.

Contact the Attorney Ryan Lewis to schedule a free consultation

The Law Office of Ross W. Albers would like to introduce our newest team member, Ryan D. Lewis, of O’Connell, Doyle & Lewis, LLC. With this addition, we now offer new options for real property tax liens, foreclosures, landlord/tenant disputes, and multiple other real estate law issues. Ryan D. Lewis brings a vast array of real estate law knowledge which allows him to identify and quickly adapt to your legal issue. Which, minimizes your risk and when combined with his ability to leverage your asset protection, can increase your wealth through your investment.

Mr. Lewis, as well as the rest of our team, is committed to guiding you through the entire process of a tax lien purchase. We want to see your investment grow and benefit you as well as help you with any legal issue that arises throughout the process. Give the Law Office of Ross W. Albers a call today and start working with the leading Maryland tax lien attorney.

Get Expert Legal Help

View Areas Served

Baltimore County Attorney: Arbutus (21227), Catonsville (21228, 21250), Cockeysville (21030, 21031, 21065), Dundalk (21222), Edgemere (21219), Essex (21221), Garrison (21055), Lansdowne (21227), Lochearn (21207), Lutherville (21093), Middle River (21220), Milford Mill (21244), Overlea (21236), Owings Mills (21117), Parkville (21234), Park Heights (21215), Pikesville (21208), Randallstown (21133), Reisterstown (21136), Rosedale (21237), Timonium (21093), Towson (21204), White Marsh (21162), Woodlawn (21207), and more.

Carroll County Attorney: Eldersburg (21784), Finksburg (21048), Hampstead (21074), Manchester (21102), Marriottsville (21104), Taneytown (21787), Union Bridge (21791), Westminster (21157, 21158), Mount Airy (21771), New Windsor (21776), Sykesville (21784), Woodbine (21797), Taneytown (21787), and more.

Harford County Attorney: Aberdeen (21001), Abingdon (21009), Bel Air (21014, 21015), Darlington (21034), Edgewood (21040), Forest Hill (21050), Jarrettsville (21084), Joppa (21085), Pylesville (21132), Whiteford (21160), White Hall (21161)

Howard County Attorney: Clarksville (21029), Columbia (21044), Cooksville (21723), Dorsey (21075), Elkridge (21075), Ellicott City (21043), Fulton (20759), Glenelg (21737), Glenwood (21738), Granite (21163), Hanover (21076), Highland (20777), Jessup (20794), Lisbon (21765), Marriottsville (21104), North Laurel (20723), West Friendship (21794), Woodbine (21797), Woodstock (21163), and more.

Montgomery County Attorney: Olney (20832), Damascus (20872), Laytonsville (20882), Silver Spring (20910), Clarksburg (20871), Gaithersburg (20878), Germantown (20876), Bethesda (20816), Chevy Chase (20815), and more.