If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you may have been ordered to use an ignition interlock device. Have you heard of this device before? Are you clueless as to what it is? Here’s everything you need to know.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)?
An ignition interlock device is essentially a breathalyzer that’s hooked up to your car. You will need to blow into it before you can start your car, and if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is too high your car won’t start.
Ignition interlock devices can be tricky, and come with a lot of rules and regulations. As an experienced Maryland DUI attorney, Ross Albers has learned the ins and outs and can help you get through this difficult time.
How Do I Join the Ignition Interlock Program?
One possible penalty for a DUI arrest is the suspension of your license, but this can be a real hindrance. An alternative to losing your license is to enroll in the ignition interlock program. If you choose to join, you will be required to participate for:
- 180 days if you submitted to a test indicating a BAC of at least .08 but less than .15.
- 1 year if you submitted a test with a BAC of .15 or higher.
- 1 year if you refused to submit a test.
You can be referred to the program by the district courts, Administrative Law Judges, and the MVA. Additionally, you can request to join yourself, but will need to be approved by either the Maryland District Court, the Office of Administrative Hearings, or the Medical Advisory Board.
How Can I Violate the Ignition Interlock Program?
Anyone found to have violated the program will be subject to removal and will have their license suspended for the entire time it was originally going to be revoked. There are many different ways to violate the program’s rules but here are some of the most common:
- Failure to have the ignition interlock device installed and to acquire a Maryland driver’s license restricted to only the operation of vehicles with a device.
- Failure to attend the monthly monitoring visit.
- Attempting to start the vehicle with a BAC of .025 or greater.
- Failure to submit to retests after starting the car.
- Operating any vehicle without an ignition interlock device.
- Tampering with or removing the device.
These are only some of the ways you can violate the ignition interlock program. For more information, you should either consult your service agreement with your interlock service provider, or contact a trained Maryland DUI attorney.
Why Work With an Experienced Maryland DUI/DWI Attorney?
Having a DUI charge on your record is a very serious thing. It can make future employment opportunities all the more difficult, can make renting or leasing a home next to impossible, and can cause shame and embarrassment. If you’ve been charged with a DUI, don’t wait around, give us a call today. Albers & Associates has handled countless DUI cases over the years, and he can help you too.
Will I Lose My License?
You might. Depending on the type of license you have and whether or not you are convicted, your license may be suspended or even revoked depending on the circumstances of your charges. However, even being charged with a DUI can result in the suspension of your license, which can affect your life substantially.
Will I Lose My Job?
It depends on your job. At the time of your arrest, the police officer will confiscate your license and provide you with a paper license that you can use until your MVA Hearing. However, for people who hold commercial driver’s licenses, also known as CDLs, this will not replace the license you need to do your job. So, until the charges are cleared, you will not be able to work. Getting on the phone with a lawyer as soon as humanly possible is essential for your continued employment.
Am I Going to Jail?
You might. If you are found guilty of a DUI, particularly if this is your second or third offense, you may face jail time. One possible outcome of DUI court proceedings, a Probation Before Judgment, can be sought. If you are able to secure a PBJ, you will be able to avoid going to jail.